Surprise

We went to a friend’s surprise birthday drinks today, which was really cool. It was at this tiny little bar at Lan Kwai Fong, this area at Central is renowned for all its bars and clubs. I’m not big on this scene, and so am probably one of the few expats who doesn’t frequent this area.

The dress code was basically music related, just come as any singer. I’m not all that interested in music, nor am I very creative. So N and I just dressed up in all white, claiming to be a generic K-pop duo ✌🤣 A few people looked good! There was a Madonna, that was my favourite costume; the birthday girl’s husband turned up as Bon Jovi (he obviously got changed once he got to the bar, so as to not give anything away); and another couple looked like Run-DMC 😂 It was pretty cool that some people made the effort to dress up.

The bar that we went to was tiny, and it felt even tinier when it started to pour, and everyone was forced to go into the bar to get out of the rain. It started to get a bit too claustrophobic in there for me as a result, and I took that as my cue to leave. We didn’t bring an umbrella, so we had to just walk in the rain 🌧 So by the time we got home, it looked like we had just taken a shower fully clothed 🤣

They have apparently moved on to another bar now, but I’m happy to be home. One bar is more than enough for me.

Leave a comment